Happy New Year? by Tisha (excerpt 3)

January 1, 2017

Today is the beginning of a new year and today is the day we make unrealistic goals of losing weight or going to the gym more or live life more and the list goes on and on, but most of us never fulfill it or even think about it after making these goals.

Today is the day we think about the things that may or may not happen this year.

Why do we care?

There is no guarantee we will be around to even see it.

This is the year Trump will take office and yet while we worry, we should be praying and asking God for understanding.

Today is the 74th birthday of my stepdad…..Pastor  J.

Since I didn’t get his permission to use his name, I will abbreviate it.

When I think about all God has done in his life….it brings me to tears,

He has been my dad from the time I was 14 years old; when my father could care less to be bothered with me.

Every other day of dialysis every week and yet he still manages to serve God and smile thru it all.

I will be forever glad to meet this day every year if it included him in it.

I can tell you some stories about him but maybe next time.

We will never see this day again this year.

A new year will come on the 1st of each year but not the first of 2016.

Each year will bring about a day that we will remember the ones who have passed on.

We will remember the day he or she was born.

We will remember the day he or she passed away.

Every holiday that comes around and he or she is not there, will just be another reminder that our time on this earth is shorter than we want it to be and temporary.15857148_1488026044543416_1578484772_o

Leave a Reply

