Happy New Year? by Tisha (excerpt 2)

December 31st 2016

Today is the last day of 2016, and I know you all are wondering like I am wondering…what will happen in 2017? And if you are saved or Christian then you are wondering if you will make it into 2017 because tomorrow is not promised to anyone.

As I type this, I look back at 2016 and I am like “wow. What a year!”. I also wonder about the things I shouldn’t wonder about and think about the things I shouldn’t think about and worry about the things that I shouldn’t worry about, because things will be what it will be. It is all part of God’s plan. Even if we don’t want to believe it, we know it is true.

The bible says in Luke 12:7 indeed, the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Think of how awesome that is. It is amazing. I am not gonna bore you with scriptures or recite the 23rd Psalms, but I wanted to speak with you just a little about 2016.

I started the year 2016 in the hospital.

What was supposed to be a surgical procedure with one overnight stay turned into four days, and I was not thrilled about that at all since people believe…including myself…is that whatever you are doing at the stroke of midnight is what you will be doing for the rest of the year.

I didn’t want to spend the year in and out of the hospital or even spend the night at the hospital.

And guess what?

I didn’t.

I did not spend a single day in the hospital so now I can put the suspicious or coming into the New Year rumors out of my mind….for now.

Today is also the day of each year we all go to church and stay there until the stroke of midnight.

I have yet to figure out the significance of this tradition, but I intend to find out and until I know for a fact, I will continue going even though I feel that being at church at the stroke of midnight of a new year falls somewhere in between the ‘whatever you’re at or are doing when the new year comes in is what you will be doing all year” mantra.

Some come and some don’t and even the ones who show up on New Year’s Eve to bring it in the church….don’t return at all during the year.

My husband and I and a few of his friends and my brother lit fireworks right before I headed to church.

My husband was working in Tampa all weekend. From Friday December 30th 2016 to Monday January 2nd 2017 (which is his entire weekend and holiday) and wanted to come home to rest a little and bring the new year in with me.

I went to church and stayed there until midnight minus him and when I got home, he was showered and in bed, so I brought the new year in ..in God’s house and not with him.

I think he should have stayed in Tampa instead since his coming back did not include me at all but yet…that is another story.

At church, we all talked about what was so good for us in 2016 which I didn’t think I found anything good in 2016 but my marriage.

I started the year off in the hospital this year then when April 21st 2016 comes around, Prince dies which is a month before my May 21st wedding day.

I will never forget the pain and hurt from his passing and the fact it was a month before my wedding , doesn’t quite help either.

My wedding day was the happiest day I remember from 2016 and is the only part I can look back and be happy about.

Then September 2016 rolled around.

Eighteen days into the month of September my uncle died suddenly and without warning.

To say that it was a very strange feeling so indescribable is an understatement.

I didn’t think I could hurt so much.

I didn’t think I still would be hurting.

All I could think about is…”God why didn’t you give me a sign? Why him? We prepared for others to pass away but not him.”

God told me ‘expect the unexpected’, so I am.

I am expecting unexpected things now.

I am still waiting, and I am so antsy waiting for it, and He will do it in His own time and not mine.

All those who felt the hurt of pain of losing a loved one or loved ones or celebrities you grew up to know and love in 2016; should take comfort in knowing that the ones who have gone before us is no longer in pain or no longer worried about anything. They no longer have the stresses of this earth upon their shoulders, and we have to take comfort that they are in a better place and are resting eternally.

Leave a Reply

